Philly Power Moves: Meet The 4 Honorees Of The 2023 Nucleus Awards

The University City Science Center announced the honorees of this year’s Nucleus Awards.

These awards recognize leaders in the science and technology space in Philadelphia. They are:

  • Dr. Daniel M. Skovronsky, the EVP and chief scientific and medical officer and president of Lilly Research Laboratories at Eli Lilly and Company. Skovronsky won the commercialization award, which recognizes an individual for their work to commercialize science and technology. Skovronsky was previously the founder and CEO of Avid Radiopharmaceuticals which was based at the Science Center. In 2010 his company was acquired by Eli Lilly where Skovronsky went on to be the VP of tailored therapeutics, VP of diabetes research, and SVP of clinical and product development.
  • Margaret Berger Bradley is the VP of strategic initiatives for Ben Franklin Technology Partners. Berger Bradley won the Capital Award, which recognizes someone who is intentionally investing in diverse startups to expand the STEM community. Berger Bradley has over 25 years of experience working with philanthropic investments and economic development.
  • Sheila D. Ireland is the president and CEO of Philadelphia OIC. Ireland won the Cultivator Award, which recognizes an individual who is creating inclusive STEM talent pipelines and encouraging workforce diversity. Before her current role, Ireland was the executive director of workforce development for the City of Philadelphia, where she managed the first citywide workforce strategy.
  • Sulaiman W. Rahman is the president and CEO of DiverseForce. Rahmon won the Convener Award, which goes to someone who is a strong connector of diverse people,  networks and ideas. In addition to DiverseForce, Rahmon also founded BBEx Network which brings together professionals of all stages and backgrounds.

Read the full article here